Friday, 30 March 2012

How long are deleted items retained? How do I configure automatic permanent deletion?


  • How long deleted items are retained depends on the type of account and how it is configured.
    • For IMAP accounts, you can edit the account settings to automatically delete after a certain interval or you can use the Schedules tool to schedule automatic deletes
    • For Exchange accounts you can use the Schedules tool to schedule automatic deletes
    • For POP accounts, you can edit the account settings or use the Schedules tool to schedule automatic deletes
  • IMAP - to schedule automatic permanent deletion of items in your Deleted Items folder in an IMAP account you may do one of the following:
    1. Edit account settings
      • Go to Tools > Accounts
      • Select the Mail tab, highlight your IMAP account, and click Edit
      • Under the Edit Account menu, click the Advanced tab
      • Under Delete options choose how you would like your messages to be deleted
    2. Use Schedules
      • Go to Tools > Run Schedule > Edit Schedules
      • Name the schedule
      • For "When," choose something other than manual and configure, for example, "On Quit"
      • For "Action," choose "Delete Mail" from the name of the folder you want to delete from older than the interval you want to delete on.
      • Messages will now be deleted automatically after the interval you set when the condition you set elapses
  • Exchange - to schedule automatic permanent deletion of items in your Exchange account's Deleted Items folder use Schedules
    • Use Schedules
      • Go to Tools > Run Schedule > Edit Schedules
      • Name the schedule
      • For "When," choose something other than manual and configure, for example, "On Quit"
      • For "Action," choose "Delete Mail" from the name of the folder you want to delete from older than the interval you want to delete on
      • Messages will now be deleted automatically after the interval you set when the condition you set elapses
  • POP
    • To schedule automatic permanent deletion of items in your Deleted Items folder in a POP account use Schedules (see above).
    • Deletion of items on the server is handled a bit differently in POP than in Exchange or IMAP. With POP all messages are downloaded to your computer and removed from the server by default. It is possible to configure your POP account so that a copy of the messages remain on the server and, optionally, are deleted after a certain interval. To configure POP this way do as follows:
      • Go to Tools > Accounts
      • Select the Mail tab, highlight your POP account, and click Edit
      • Under the Edit Account menu, click the Options tab
      • Under Server options check "Leave a copy of each message on the server"
      • If you want message to be deleted after a certain number of days, check that option
      • If you want messages to be deleted after they are deleted from you computer, click that option

0 comments:

Post a Comment